Reading Birth Chart (Part 2)

If you have not read Part 1 do so now before reading part 2 to give a general overview of the chart at first glance. As you saw in part 1 the birth chart is made up of 12 houses (for the 12 zodiac signs). Each sign is made up of 30 degrees that total up to 360 degrees in a whole circle. Below you will see the planets (yes the Sun and moon is consider “planets” in astrology, meaning a celestial body), degrees and the houses.

Below is a layout you can use to match your birth chart for example, I know my first house is in Scorpio because according to my chart from part 1 scorpio is located in the first house section, so this means the attributes of Scorpio is express through myself, first expressions, attitude, appearance ( note: the houses representation is in the chart below). First house is important in our physical appearance and how others see outwardly. This is also known as our ascendent/rising sign which is left of the horizon (as shown is the second image below). Your rising sign (aka ascendent sign ) is one of the 3 important parts of your overall personality. This is known as the public you. The Sun is another part of your overall personality and this is what many know based on their date of birth. This is our overall self. Lastly, the moon sign is the final part as it represents our inner needs, our emotions and what makes us feel secure. Please note: even though the big 3 (sun, moon and rising sign) shows an overall of your personality the planets show different aspects regarding different parts of your life. This is why the houses and other planets is just as important in knowing. Such as the midheaven when looking a career and the 7th house when looking about life partner and in addition to this there are aspects (square, trine, sextile, conjunction, etc.) is how each interact with one other will influence it as well. Yes, its a lot to take in, but this is why taking it part from part will help to understand the foundation so you are able to read the chart yourself as a whole rather than each individually.

Each sign combine with a house number represents the type of action and its effects.
Ascendent= the mask you wear in front of everyday people
Midheaven= life’s purpose, career ambition and public persona AKA Medium Coeli or MC / in the 10th house

Below shows the importance of each planet in detail and this affects our view in different aspects of life. An example, Mars (sex) and Venus (love) are the planets to look at to understand your love life as well moon plays a role, but we just focus on Mars and Venus in this instance. For the men the Venus sign tells us what type of qualities in a female he is attracted to, while his Mars is how he acts towards his love interest. For the women, Venus is how she need to be loved and how she acts towards her love interest, while her Mars is the the qualities of a man that turns her on. If a person is a Scorpio Sun that does not mean you will act intensely in your romantic relationships if one has their Venus in Sagittarius. Sagittarius is a sign that takes seem light-hearted in relationships unlike if a person has a Venus in Scorpio (which is me) values the intensity of relationships, which is not most people cup of tea. Mars is another planet that tells us what we are attracted to, but is solely on sexual needs. Mars also tells us our course of action on how and what we direct our energy on. Also, one should look at the house of any sign and the sign corresponding to that sign. For example, if person A, sun in Scorpio in a 4th house will have a different energy than person B with a Sun in Scorpio than the 1st house (which I have). This is because 4th house is rules Cancer ( water sign ) which is focus on home and security as the moon (sensitive and emotional) is the ruler of Cancer while the 1st house is ruled by Aries (fire sign) which is all about one’s self and is ruled by Mars (aggressive planet compared to the moon). This is say both Scorpios will process their sun sign in a different way based on the house placement since you taking into account the house placement ruler of the sign and planet. If we are just focusing on the sun sign, person A their ego (Sun) is a sense of security while person B their ego is more self centered and can be more impatient than person A since Aries rules the 1st house. We can see Person B signs shares Mars and both Scorpio and Aries share the same planet which will make the person more “fiery” than a “normal” Scorpio while Person A has Mars from the sun in Scorpio like Person B, but also has the moon which is rules emotions.

There are 30 degrees in each sign, 0 is the start of a sign while 30 is the end of a sign as well as the minutes that follow afterward. In each of the 3o degrees degrees there are 3 decans. Critical degrees place in your chart has a higher importance in one’s chart. The last degree(29) of any sign is anaretic degree (critical) indicate it is weaker in that aspect compared to if it was in a sign that was 10 degrees for example. Also, it indicate that there will be some type of challenge. This is a period of transition where the sign is about to move into another sign and eventually take on the other sign later in life. Any sign at degree at 0 degrees is also consider a critical degree as it is starting a new beginning of the sign.

Other critical degrees are:

0, 13, and 26 degrees of the cardinal signs (Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn)

8-9 and 21-22 degrees of fixed signs (Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius); and

4 and 17 degrees of mutable signs (Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces).

Below is a video that goes more in depth.

Next, we will look at the calculation of your chart and discover the dominant element (water, fire, air or earth) , the dominant modality (fixed, mutable, and cardinal) , dominant sign and planet. (Part 3)

One Reply to “Reading Birth Chart (Part 2)”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *